Figure & Motion: Self Portrait

Self Web

Using what I have learned over the semester I created a 30″x22″ charcoal self portrait. I focused less on a high contrast portrait and instead attempted to give my image more true-to-life tones and shadows. To create realistic values close to my original image I kept the array of shades closer together than what one would use in higher contrasts.

Although the strongest portion of my piece is the zip-up hoodie, my work shows improvement compared to my original portrait that I created at the beginning of last semester (fall 2015).

This entry was posted in Non-Timebased, Spring 2016 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

